I went for my very first tests for the Clinical Research Study for PCOS on Monday. The first two tests were RMR (resting metabolic rate) (measures how much energy you burn while resting) and DXA (bone density). For the first (RMR) test I was in a hospital bed for about 40 minutes, 30 of which is spent with what I like to call and astronaut’s helmet over my head. Let me just say this, I don’t think that I am claustrophobic, but I have to say that having this little helmet like thing over your head for 30 minutes will make you a little anxious. At first I was a little uneasy, thinking what if there’s not enough oxygen, what if I forget to breathe right. Then, after my initial small panic I realized if I’m going to make it I’m going to have to let my mind go elsewhere. So, I begin to focus on the only thing I have in my vision, the ceiling tiles. I begin to count the number of tiles on this ceiling, and then when that gets old, I count the number of cracked or disfigured tiles, after about 60 seconds I am done, and left with the realization that this could possibly be the LONGES T 30 minutes of my life. After about 10-15 minutes of this constant mental battle with myself, my eyelids start getting really heavy. I had to get up at 4 that morning to get to UAB on time. I hadn’t been able to sleep much the night before because I like a dummy decided to take a little afternoon nap on Sunday (I cant do this and still sleep at night, I can barely sleep at night without a nap). Anyway, so my eyelids are so heavy that I spend the remaining 15+ minutes focusing on trying to stay awake. Then I have to go pee on a stick to make sure I am not pregnant. So, she gives me the pregnancy test, and I got to the PUBLIC bathroom where this woman in the next stall is handling her business. Those who know me know that I struggle with peeing in public places or just peeing in general (its psychological, I know). So, I am trying to concentrate and I don’t do well peeing on Q, and I’m really trying to focus because this woman in the next stall is making her presence known, and I’m just trying to get this done. So, I finally manage to pee just enough for the test to work. She then takes me to this other room when I lie on table and this thing that looks like a MRI/Scanner runs this arm along my body (DXA Test). It was over and done and on to the next thing.
So, then Friday I go in for the MEAL CHALLENGE test that last 5 hours. I fast the night before nothing to eat or drink except water from on Thursday until on Friday. First of all I got a little lost trying to find my way to where I needed to be for the testing. I turned into the wrong parking deck, then parked in the faculty parking area, where a very nice lady helped me find my way to the correct elevator. They took me to a small room with a bed, & a tv. She goes to try and find a good vein to start an IV and she cant find a strong enough vein in my arm so she has to put it in my hand. The vein in my hand was less than cooperative the whole day. My hand got to cold so nothing would come out, EVERY Time she went to take blood she had to pull on my hand to get the blood to come out. By the 3rd hour my hand was so sore. Anyways, so after the first hour they made me drink 2 bottles of ensure within 5 minutes, this was not to bad and helped with the hunger pains, then we moved on to taking blood every 10 minutes for the next 3 hours, the last hour was just 2 blood draws and then at 12 it was over. The nurse was nice enough to give me a map with instructions on how to find my way back to my car, which I didn’t have any trouble finding. When I went to leave the parking deck I made a wrong turn and spent the next hour trying to find my way back to the interstate. After pulling over a few times, driving from one end of town to the other, a call to my husband who was unable to lead me the right way, a failed attempt to pull up navigation on my phone because in the middle of my dilemma it wanted me to UDPATE, needless to say I was on the brink of a meltdown. I some how got turned the right way and found my way back to the interstate. I was supposed to go back @ that day for an MRI but called & cancelled. By the time I got home I had a sick headache from not eating, and probably from the stress of the day, I layed down and took a 4 hour nap, and that was that. Atleast next time I will be a little more prepared.